top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin Kincaid

Book I'm Reading

I’m reading 101 Things I Wish I Knew When I Got Married right now, mainly for inspiration for our Lakeside Relationship Services classes but there have been some really great insights I’d love to share with you. I won’t share them all becuase I think you should head out to your favorite book store and get your own copy! Just kidding! But I will share those that I think are good for the season and what’s going on in our lives right now.

Today’s Lesson is #67 – Don’t keep feelings of gratitude to yourself.

It is so easy to get stuck in a rut and forget to be grateful. I remember working on a campaign component in which we had designed an ad that said Marriage Tip: “Men, learn to maneuver the toilet seat.” We thought we were so clever, and then we learned that for some, the toilet seat being up meant he came home last night. Wow! What a mind changer on gratitude. Now don’t get me wrong, when my hubby leaves his clothing on the floor I am not running around turning cartwheels in gratitude that he slept in my bed last night. BUT, I do try to see it as a sign that he is in my life and chooses to stay here with me. (then I grumble and moan how I am not his maid and well, you know the rest…)

I think at this time of the year, an attitude of gratitude is expected with others but that we ignore that when it comes to our spouse. So the lesson here is to show outward gratitude to them for their choosing to be in our lives. So many others cannot say the same thing. So many are alone and wish they had this chance that we often take for granted. The 101 book says “One of the easiest and most potent ways of strengthening your connection is to voice your feelings of appreciation and gratitude. Acknowledgment of any type, no matter how insignificant it may seem, can deepen the bond of caring far more that we realize.”

Just think how it makes you feel when your partner recognizes something that you do. It makes you feel valued and good inside right? So, these season, try to find new ways to say thanks. For some it may just be saying thanks in the first place. For others it may mean getting creative with your gratefulness. Wherever you are in your gratitude thermometer, take it up a notch with your spouse. You’ll see what I mean…


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I am not happy.

Yesterday, a white man was convicted of the murder of a black man. The white man was a police officer. The black man was a drug user and had "a history." Read between the lines there. There is nothin

bottom of page